QSO Mapping

For a while I’ve been logging my contacts both on a variety of online logbook platforms and on a large European Locator Map stuck to the wall in my man cave. It’s been quite good fun sticking pins into grid squares and seeing where these places are, especially the eastern European cities and ex-soviet block countries famed in the Cold War thriller films and novels I grew up on.

That said, I’ve now got a rig that is racking in QSO’s quicker than I can write them down which makes keeping on top of things a bit of a pain.

Until I’ve configured everything how I want it, I still like the manual control of ensuring my contacts are full and correct before logging them. At the minute I export an ADIF file from Fldigi and then import that into QRZ.com, LoTW, eQSL etc.

The contact map I produced in an earlier post

Screenshot 2015-10-08

was made by importing the ADIF file into ADIF to Map found at http://www.levinecentral.com/adif2map/

There’s a neat feature within it that allows you to export the data as a KML file.

Google earth then allows you to import the KML files directly into it, which then generates very nice images like this

Screenshot 2015-10-10 09.28.26

I’ve been looking at Andy’s site http://alloutput.com/amateur-radio/using-gis-for-radio-maps/ and will have a play with GIS mapping to give a cleaner image as this is a bit cluttered and as QSO’s push further afield it will get harder to make sense of things, but for a first attempt, I’m quite impressed.

