Rig CAT problems #2

Ok, so very helpfully my 9 pin D sub CT-62 cable arrived the other day which I sourced from http://www.g4zlp.co.uk/index.shtml

$(KGrHqVHJCUFGnNfS((jBR0L24bL,Q--60_35

Not the actual cable, but you get the idea, no USB involved!

After plumbing it in I can state it doesn’t want to do nasty things to my radio which is always a bonus and I then spent the next hour trying to work out why it still didn’t work. This is getting the radio to talk to Fldigi I must stress.

After trying all sorts of diagnostic software available from http://www.g4hfq.co.uk/index.html I was about to give up when I thought about trying a totally different package. I’ve had HamRadio Deluxe sitting waiting to be installed for a few weeks and thought, what the hell!

On starting the package it tries to connect to your radio and very helpfully says “No radio detected. If you’re using a home made cable ensure you have RTS & DTR enabled to provide 12 v power and try again.”

That would have been helpful earlier! Strangely, with those both enabled within the Cat control config of Fldigi, everything works!

Now the next trick is to sort a USB solution for devices without legacy ports! I’ve had one of these laying around for a while.

20151011_110437

This uses an FTDI chipset rather than the Prolific variant which was causing my radio to squeak like a Chinchilla being passed through a mangle. The cunning plan was to use this to give me a USB connection to the radio. Thankfully, these things are plug and play and once Windows 10 wakes up and installs the drivers for you, you have a fully functioning device.

However, on plugging the D sub CT-62 into this and sparking up Fldigi, things still didn’t want to play nice. For some reason the frequency display was hopping around all over the place within the software, taking the radio with it. It was bouncing off frequency by a couple of 100Hz in an uncontrollable fashion and the “Frq” box of the logging pane was showing ridiculous random numbers. No amount of tweaking of settings would get this thing to work and I had to admit defeat.

So at the moment, we have a fully functioning rig but utilising legacy connections. Stay tuned!

