Portable Operations #1 – Field mast

The objective for 2016 is to get out of the shack and into the wild with a radio. This has been on the agenda since day one, but like every idea there are teething problems, interuptions and cost implications!

That said we took one step closer today when I finalised my antenna mounting platform for use at field day events. This is a two pronged attack, giving me a mast I can mount an HF antenna on along with my BBHN node, which will give me Mesh access for WX, Cluster reporting and logging. While I mention WX have a look at this – blitzortung.org. It’s always useful to know how far away the serious trouble is!

So, on a bright and cheery Sunday morning I took a little trip to Fort Purbrook to see if my latest creation actually worked as it was based on a sketch and dimensions I was gifted and unfortunately I wasn’t able to actually get a hands on, prebuild examination of the trig point to get things straight in my head before I started hacking up my very limited supply of free plywood. Added to that, I have the woodworking finesse of dry rot, so the margin for error was slimmer than the shrinking exchange rate value of the pound!

20160710_105926

20160710_110035

20160710_105949

In the words of Shrek, “That’ll do Donkey, that’ll do!”

20160710_114210

When it drys out from the soaking with drizzle this morning I’ll give it a quick once over with yacht varnish to stop mould and the like setting in while in storage. The whole kit breaks down very nicely to a light weight bundle for transporting.

